Media awards at the Holte Suite

More than 200 guests recognise achievements of Midlands finest journalists and broadcasters

The Midlands Media Awards welcomed 225 guests to the Holte Suite, Villa Park. The awards, now in their 18th year, recognise the achievements of the region’s journalists, photographers, broadcasters and bloggers. Media personalities Bob Warman and Llewela Bailey hosted the evening and headline sponsor was Bobby Singh, founder of Love Your Other event supporters were Wing Wah Group, HSBC UK and Digbeth Dining Club. Winner of the Newspaper of the Year (Daily) category was the Express & Star, while the Staffordshire Newsletter won the Weekly Newspaper award.


1 Laurie Upshon, Keith Wilkinson, Mark Gough, Daniel Pallett

2 Wei Geng, Jacky Lo, Brian Doogan, Dr Dorian Chan, Fred Bromwich, Dr Jiayu Jiang, Shu Wang

3 Martin Wright receives the Newspaper of the Year trophy from headline sponsor Bobby Singh

4 Julie and Mike Lockley, Sue Green

5 Toby Neal, Shropshire Star, receives the President’s Award from Bob Warman

6 Helen Hoddinott, Diana Peasey

7 Stacey Barnfield, John Duckers, Zoe Chamberlain, Adam Fradgley

8 Jack Brabant, Danni Page, Krupa Brabant, Harry Jenkins

9 Dean Williams, Sarah Jolley