Midlands Media Students’ Awards

Students vie for top honours as Birmingham Press Club accolades make a welcome return

Revived for the first time since the outbreak of Covid, Birmingham Press Club’s Midlands Media Students’ Awards were held at Hockley Social Club. Students from Birmingham City University and the University of Warwick took six of the 11 main honours, while the Student of the Year award went to Nicholas Gascoyne from Leicester’s De Montfort University. The event, sponsored by Amazon UK Services, was co-hosted by ITV Central journalist Lewis Warner and BBC Asian Network presenter Amber Sandhu.


1 Lewis Warner, Nicholas Gascoyne, Bob Warman, Amber Sandu

2 Rima Ayoubi, Abdul Jalfar

3 Megan Jones, Kirsty Card

4 Calum Leslie

5 Adam Fradgley, Fionnuala Bourke, Chris Hills

6 University of Gloucestershire

7 University of Worcester

8 University of Warwick

Photography by Richard Hammersley and Adrian Kibbler