New media talent shines bright

Stars of the future battle it out to claim Press Club accolades

Birmingham Press Club’s annual Media Students Awards were held at Austin Court conference centre, Birmingham. The awards recognise future talent in broadcasting, journalism and photography and attracted a record entry from nearly 260 students. Conor Rees, 22, from Northfield, was named Media Student of the Year. He also won the Online Innovation and Blogger/Vlogger prizes. The awards were hosted by BBC producer Kevin Pashby and BBC Radio WM presenter Llewela Bailey and sponsored by Staffordshire University with support from Birmingham City University, Barclays, Bournville College, JDB Events, Real People and Purple Frog Property.

Photographs by Birmingham City University media student Bethany Watkins


  1. Avneet Chauhan, Laura Peberday (BCU)
  2. Charlotte Widdowson, Andy Green, Conor Rees (Worcester University)
  3. Geraldine Sheridan, Fred Bromwich, Claire Wolfe
  4. Professor Diane Kemp, Anna Noble, Sue Heseltine
  5. Llewela Bailey, Chelsea James (Worcester University), Kevin Pashby
  6. Saeed Hussain (Worcester University)
  7. Laura O’Callaghan, James Hall (Staffordshire University)
  8. Taz Ali(City of Wolverhampton College)