Media Student Awards

Inaugural Midlands Media Student Awards recognise best of next-generation talent

Birmingham Press Club held its first Midlands Media Student Awards at The Studio. The awards, launched to recognise the emerging talent of next-generation journalists and broadcasters, were organised by Cloud 9 Event Management with main sponsor Purple Frog Property as part of the Press Club’s 150th anniversary celebrations. Natasha Turney was named Journalism Student of the Year and received her award from BBC Midlands Today presenter Mary Rhodes, herself a former journalism student at Birmingham City University.

Photography by Benjamin Furst


  1. Natasha Turney, Mary Rhodes
  2. David Hynds, Sophie Beckett
  3. Emma Jane Boyle, Patrick Garrett
  4. James Forrest, Paula Kelsey
  5. Jamie Kinman, Alexandra Martin, Lee Mitchell, Donna Clapp
  6. John Lamb, Mary Rhodes, Kay Cadman, Marc Reeves
  7. Shannon Jenkins, Paula Kelsey, Mary Rhodes, Ed James
  8. Chas Andrews-Roberts, Chris Parker, Luke Gould, Mark Smith, Phil Basi