Debaters reward golden milestone

Society marks fighter pilot’s 50-year association with special presentation

A long-standing member struck gold at Birmingham and Edgbaston Debating Society’s meeting. Ken Wilkinson was presented with a special certificate celebrating his 50 years with the society. The former fighter pilot from the Second World War received his award at Edgbaston Golf Club, where the society meets each month from September to May. Founded in the mid-19th century, the society can count among its previous members some of the country’s ‘great and good’ – past presidents include Neville and Joseph Chamberlain. Membership criteria in the 21st century requires only a shared love of debating.


  1. Camilla Gilmore, Dr David Canner, Aphra Gilmore
  2. Ian Marshall, Jane and Chris Baker
  3. Reg Willshire, Stephen Gilmore, Dr Luke Evans
  4. Richard Canner, Ken Wilkinson
  5. Roger Stone, Dr Anthony Joseph, Helene Joseph, David Clarke, Prof John Hilbourne
  6. Tim Venner, Luke Brown, Prithpal Saimbi, Karan Gilmore
  7. Patricia and Geoffrey Burcher, Jim Fergus, Linda Williams